-目的地-

 

棕榈崖的历史

关于:

古印第安人制作的石器工具是最早在棕榈崖发现的史前古器物,可以追溯到公元前1万年。跟随着这些最早的到访者,一代又一代的印第安人来到棕榈崖,在河流里捕获牡蛎和鱼,在森林里涉猎和收集。如今,考古学家在这里发现了牡蛎壳、尸骨、土制器皿的碎片以及一些石式工具,这些都是曾有先人居住于此的证据。然而,当1562年简•瑞巴特(Jean Ribaut)到达巴里斯岛(Parris Island)时,他发现棕榈崖上空无一人。

1730年,英国海军上将乔治•洛德•埃森(George Lord Anson)购买了这块土地。不过他从未在这里居住过。而是在环游地球和捕获西班牙大帆船之后,他回到了英国去享受荣华富贵了。1757年,埃森将他的五月河地产分成几块作为种植园进行售卖。

在美国战前时期,棕榈崖被分割成了21个种植园。托马斯•芬威克•德雷顿(Thomas Fenwick Drayton)曾是其中一个种植园的业主。在皇家港口战役(Battle of Port Royal)期间,他曾担任位于希尔顿黑德岛(Hilton Head Island)沃克战壕(Fort Walker)的南方同盟军司令官。在这场战役中,德雷顿将军曾抗击他的弟弟,联邦炮艇的珀西瓦尔•德雷顿上校(Percival Drayton)。联邦海军轻而易举地打败了南方同盟军,德雷顿将军被迫下令撤退。

威尔逊村庄遗址

简介:

小R.T.威尔逊(R.T.Wilson, Jr.)先生的“棕榈别墅”遗址,既增添了乡村广场的优雅,又丰富了棕榈崖的历史。早在20世纪初始,小R.T.威尔逊先生就在这个拥有72间房间,配有超大宴会厅的别墅里盛情款待宾客。这座棕榈崖别墅最初的设计理念就是以待客为中心。宾客们乘坐萨凡纳沿线轮船(Savannah Line Steamship)、大西洋海岸沿线火车(Atlantic Coast Line Railroad)或者是沿海航线火车(Seaboard Airline train)到达这一别墅。那时《纽约时报》的社会生活版块经常会提及纽约精英们“今天就出发去拜访南卡罗来纳州棕榈崖的R.T.威尔逊夫妇。”宾客们会呆上数周,尽情享受威尔逊夫人的豪华派对。派对上供应了大量丰盛而高雅的美食,菜品的新鲜食材大都选自周围水域、森林和威尔逊的广阔农场。

然而1926年的一次突发性灾难让威尔逊家族在棕榈崖过冬的习俗戛然而止,在威尔逊夫妇居住期间,豪宅的楼阁上发生了火灾,而且一发不可收拾。对威尔逊先生而言,这场发生在这座仅建成14年的豪宅里的灾难令他心痛不已。据报道称威尔逊先生面对这次灾难痛哭流涕,并两次被人从燃烧的建筑中拉走。1926年,威尔斯先生因肝脏和其他身体原因,他没有尝试重建这座别墅,而是将这里的所有资产,包括伐木厂和其他资产,全部卖给了Varn Turpentine & Cattle公司。

艺术保护

简介:

卡罗来纳州低地地区的艺术已演变为当地历史和地理环境的精华,同时也使得棕榈崖和这一地区在世界上脱颖而出。从海群岛(Sea Islands)的原始民间艺术,到乔纳森.格林(Jonathon Green)的“纯朴”而精致的画作;从赫蒂(Hutty)和维尔纳(Verner)的查尔斯顿蚀刻画,到雷•埃利斯(Ray Ellis)和韦斯•弗雷泽(Wes Fraser)那美轮美奂的风景画,这里的艺术作品风格迥异,丰富多彩。低地地区在所有季节中的光质都可以和普罗旺斯相媲美,这也许就是为什么这里多年来能够吸引世界各地艺术家的原因。不过最引人注目的还是那令人惊叹的河流、湿地和海边森林的自然美景,以及当地民众的信心、乐观、热情和善良的本性,都让这里成为了一处珍贵而又神秘的地带。

此外,棕榈崖艺术委员会(The Palmetto Bluff Arts Commission)还帮助当地居民和游客去发现低地地区的艺术之美。他们通过各类艺术保护项目,以各种形式将艺术深入到社区当中。

嘎勒人文化

简介:

嘎勒人是曾经居住在低地(Lowcountry)地区的非洲奴役的后代。 嘎勒人拥有丰富的文化遗产,特别是在希尔顿海德岛(Hilton Head)和都福斯科岛(Daufuskie Islands)。 这一文化的兴起是由于奴役从塞拉利昂和安哥拉等国被带至南卡罗来纳州和乔治亚州,在当地兴盛的水稻、棉花和木蓝种植园里劳作。 种植园的主人将种植园交给有能力的非洲人来监管。此方法一直沿用至美国内战。 这些情况促使海岛上的奴役可以将他们的非洲传统流传至今,并与内陆城市和州相比要更加丰富。

嘎勒人在20世纪依然保留着他们的传统文化,外界对其鲜有影响。 历史学家、语言学家和人类学家都纷纷前来学习他们的文化。 嘎勒人沿用着他们独特的生活方式,并创建了当地博物馆、展览和各类节日,将他们的文化发扬光大。 穿过桥便到达希尔顿海德岛,或跨越水域抵达都福斯科岛,岛上依然是没有铺砌的小路和自由奴役建造的住所。嘎勒人仍然沿袭着轮船建造、捕虾、编篮子和捕牡蛎的本土贸易方式。

棕榈崖

简介:

坐落于南卡罗来纳州希尔顿黑德岛(Hilton Head Island)和乔治亚州萨凡纳之间的海岸线上,棕榈崖是一处面积为2万英亩的开发区,汇聚了一个广阔的自然保护区、多条步道、一个充满活力的乡村中心(拥有河流入口)、丰富多彩的陆地活动以及一座杰克·尼克劳斯签名高尔夫球场(Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course)。位于棕榈崖威尔逊村的棕榈崖度假村,是一家由蒙太奇酒店及度假村管理的AAA五星钻石度假村和水疗中心。

威尔逊村依五月河而建,是一座任由岁月流逝,依旧风景如画的古老乡村。这里的广阔乡村广场、各式迷人餐厅、精品店和纯正的老式社区之感,是您与人会面或进行任何活动的理想场所。

在这里的每一天都会为您带来一丝新奇与惊喜。您可以到Buffalos餐厅享用早餐,下午在当地精品店中搜寻心仪物品。在历史中心感受丰富的家庭之旅,从威尔逊码头处开启一次皮划艇之旅,然后到RT’s市场购置晚餐食材。这里是一处罕见之所,您能够随心所欲,生活任由您创造,恰到好处,是您进行完美度假的绝佳场所。

布拉夫顿(Bluffton)

简介:

坐落于棕榈崖附近,是一座古雅迷人的海边小镇。布拉夫顿位于五月河沿岸的断崖之上,它的名字也因此而来。战争前的老房子,历史悠久的教堂和独特的商店都静静地停靠在沿街种满橡树的布拉夫顿小镇中心历史街区的街道上,让您领略到低地地区的生活特色。小镇带给您的感觉,常常被人们描述为“布拉夫顿心境”。当您在独特的手工艺商店、画廊、餐馆和精品店里游逛时,这种感觉尤其明显。

希尔顿黑德岛(Hilton Head)

简介:

仅三十分钟车程,希尔顿黑德岛上拥有该地区最原始的沙滩,各式餐厅以及世界级的高尔夫球场和网球场。客人们可乘坐我们免费提供的梅赛德斯奔驰参观岛屿,或者通过我们的日常船舶到达海港,开启这一完美的一日之旅。

博福特(Beaufort)

简介:

漫步在狭长的街道上,观赏天然的树叶和被苔藓覆盖的百年橡树,博福特的中心地带是该地区的瑰宝之一。您可跟随专业导游,通过步行、马车或观光车等方式,一起探索这座城市的历史街区。小镇的中心地带还设有众多不拘一格的商店和艺术画廊。小镇的东部还能看到南北战争时期保存下来的精致住宅,许多住宅中都能观赏到绝美的水景。

萨凡纳(Savannah)

简介:

从棕榈崖向南出发大约三十分钟的车程就到达了历史悠久的港口城市萨凡纳。萨凡纳市的历史街区是美国最大的国家历史地标区域之一,它包含了22座花园广场,历史悠久的建筑物以及美国最古老的战前火车设施。美国顶级艺术院校之一萨凡纳艺术与设计学院(Savannah College of Art and Design)坐落于此。这座城市有着丰富且形式各异的艺术氛围。城市的鹅卵石街道欢迎着游客们独自或者跟随导游前来探索这座城市的建筑、美景、历史和各色商店。

位置&方向

简介:

如使用GPS装置查找棕榈崖。
请使用该地址:1 Village Park Square, Bluffton, SC 29910。

从萨凡纳机场出发
离开机场,随标志进入I-95 North高速路。在I-95 North高速路上行驶至南卡罗来纳州的Exit 8出口(16英里)。从Exit 8出口向右行驶进入278 East高速路,继续行驶至SC 170号高速路(8英里)。从右边出口驶向SC 170号公路,然后到达一个圆形交叉路口(4英里)。在圆形交叉路口处开始绕行。从第三个出口处向东行驶至SC 46号高速路。 直至行驶至棕榈崖(Palmetto Bluff )入口(2英里)。我们的南卡罗来纳州度假村的入口将在您的右方,并继续行驶至大门。

从南卡罗来纳州希尔顿黑德岛(Hilton Head Island)出发
离开希尔顿黑德岛后,继续行驶至278和SC 46号高速公路的交汇处(5英里)。左转至SC 46号高速路,然后继续行驶至第一个停车标志(两英里)。右转至SC 46号高速路,并继续行驶至棕榈崖入口(5英里)。棕榈崖的入口将在您的左方,并继续行驶至大门。

从南卡罗来纳州的查尔斯顿出发
在17号高速路上朝南卡的博福特(Beaufort, SC)方向行驶。沿着17号高速路行驶至I-95 South高速路。在I-95 South高速路上驶向Exit 8出口。在红绿灯处向左转至278号高速路。从SC 170出口处向右转。在圆形交叉路口处(4英里),从第三个出口处向东行驶至SC 46号高速路。大约行驶两英里,棕榈崖入口将在您的右方。

从南卡罗来纳州的博福特(Beaufort)出发
在SC 170号高速路上朝布拉夫顿(Bluffton)方向行驶,直至SC 46号高速路交汇处(22英里)。在圆形交叉路口处开始绕行。从第三个出口处向东行驶至SC 46号高速路。直至行驶至棕榈崖(Palmetto Bluff )入口(2英里)。棕榈崖入口将在您的右方,并继续行驶至大门。

从其他地点出发
在I-95高速路上行驶至南卡罗来纳州的Exit 8出口。从Exit 8出口处进入278 East高速路,继续行驶至SC 170号高速路(8英里)。从右边出口驶向SC 170号公路,然后到达一个圆形交叉路口(4英里)。在圆形交叉路口处开始绕行。从第三个出口处向东行驶至SC 46号高速路。直至行驶至棕榈崖(Palmetto Bluff )入口(2英里)。我们的南卡罗来纳州度假村的入口将在您的右方,并继续行驶至大门。

Select your accommodation type

Close

-Destination-

 

Palmetto Bluff History

About:

The oldest artifacts found at Palmetto Bluff, stone tools made by Paleoindians, date to 10,000 B.C. Following these early visitors, generations of Native Americans came to Palmetto Bluff to harvest oysters and fish in the rivers, and to hunt and gather in the forests. Today, archaeologists find oyster shells, bones, and fragments of clay pots and stone tools as evidence of the prehistoric people. However, by 1562, when Jean Ribaut arrived at Parris Island, the land of Palmetto Bluff appeared to have been uninhabited.

In 1730, British naval officer Admiral George Lord Anson purchased the property. However, Anson never lived here. Instead, after sailing around the globe and capturing Spanish galleons, he returned to England to enjoy his fame and fortune. In 1757, Anson divided his May River estate into parcels that were sold as individual plantations.

In the antebellum era, Palmetto Bluff was comprised of 21 plantations. One of the plantation owners was Thomas Fenwick Drayton, commander of the Confederate soldiers at Fort Walker on Hilton Head Island during the Battle of Port Royal. In this battle, General Drayton faced his own brother, Captain Percival Drayton, commander of a Federal gunboat. The Union navy easily defeated the Confederate forces and General Drayton was forced to order a retreat.

Wilson Village Ruins

About:

Contributing to the rich history of Palmetto Bluff, the ruins that grace the Village Green are all that remains of R.T. Wilson, Jr.’s “Palmetto Lodge.” Shortly after the turn of the twentieth century, R.T. Wilson, Jr. entertained lavishly in his magnificent 72-room home, complete with grand ballroom. The Palmetto Bluff estate was designed with guests in mind. Visitors arrived at the estate by way of a Savannah Line steamship, the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, or the Seaboard Airline train. The social pages of the New York Times listed the comings and goings of the New York elite with frequent mention of individuals “leaving today to visit Mr. and Mrs. R.T. Wilson of Palmetto Bluff, S.C.” Guests would stay for weeks, enjoying Mrs. Wilson’s lavish parties. One can only imagine the elegance and bounty of the meals served there, with the freshest of ingredients harvested from the surrounding waters and woods, and the produce of Wilson’s extensive farms.

The Wilsons’ pastoral winters at Palmetto Bluff came to a sudden and tragic halt in 1926 when, during their occupancy, a fire broke out in the attic of their mansion that could not be controlled. The destruction of the 14-year-old mansion was heartbreaking to Richard Wilson Jr., who is reported to have wept profusely at the loss and had to be twice carried from the burning building. In ill health, with liver and other problems, he made no attempt to rebuild the mansion and sold the entire property, including the sawmill and other business properties, to the Varn Turpentine and Cattle Company in 1926.

Lowcountry Arts

About:

The art of the Carolina Lowcountry has evolved as a distillate of the history and geography which make Palmetto Bluff – and this region – unique in the world. It ranges in style from the primitive folk art of the Sea Islands to the exquisite and sophisticated “naïve” paintings of Jonathon Green – from the Charleston etchings of Hutty and Verner, to the stunning landscapes of Ray Ellis and Wes Fraser. The quality of light in the Lowcountry, in all seasons, has been compared to that of Provence, and this may help to explain why the region has been a magnet to artists all over the world for many years. But the most compelling draw is the stunning natural beauty of the rivers, marshes and maritime forest, as well as the hope, optimism and warm good nature of the people which characterize this rare and mystical place.

Gullah Culture

About:

The Gullah are descendants of enslaved Africans who lived in the Lowcountry region. The Gullah culture is rich in heritage particularly on the Hilton Head and Daufuskie Islands, stemming from the slave descendants who stayed and made the area their home. Their culture arose from slaves brought to South Carolina and Georgia from countries like Sierra Leone and Angola to work the rice, cotton and indigo plantations thriving in the region. The owners left their plantations in the capable hands of African overseers, a practice they kept up well into the American Civil War. Both of these circumstances provided opportunities for the Sea Island slaves to keep their African traditions alive with a richer quality than inland cities and states had.

Gullah people continued to practice their traditional culture with little influence from the outside world well into the 20th century. Historians, linguists, and anthropologists have flocked to study their culture. The Gullah preserve their unique way of life and have developed local museums, exhibits, festivals and raised awareness of their culture. Just over the bridge on Hilton Head and across the waters to Daufuskie are back roads still unpaved, with homes built by freed slaves and the Gullah still practicing their native trades of ship building, shrimping, basket weaving, and oyster harvesting.

Palmetto Bluff

About:

Situated along the coast of South Carolina between Hilton Head Island, South Carolina and Savannah, Georgia, Palmetto Bluff is a 20,000-acre development encompassing an extensive nature preserve; walking trails; a vibrant Village center complete with river access, an array of land activities and a Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course. Montage Palmetto Bluff, an award-winning resort and Spa rests within Palmetto Bluff.

Wilson Village is a place rooted in time, a picture-perfect small town village, resting along the May River, from the very best of the good old days. An expansive village green, charming restaurants, boutiques, and a genuine sense of good old-fashioned community, it’s the very ideal of a simple, memorable place where you enjoy everyone you meet and everything you do.

Every day here brings something new and refreshing. A breakfast at Buffalo’s, and an afternoon treasure hunt in the local boutiques. An enriching family tour of the History Center, a kayak adventure from Wilson’s Landing, then a quick trip to RT’s Market for dinner fixings. It’s the rare place where life is what you make it, nothing more, nothing less – the perfect place at the perfect pace for your perfect vacation.

Bluffton

About:

Located just beyond Palmetto Bluff, Bluffton is a quaint, charming, coastal town whose name refers to its location atop a scenic bluff along the May River. Antebellum homes, historic churches and unique shops rest along the oak-lined streets of Bluffton’s downtown historic district, offering a taste of Lowcountry living. The feeling in town often referred to as “A Bluffton State of Mind” is apparent as you explore unique artisan shops, galleries, restaurants and boutiques.

Hilton Head

About:

A mere 30 minutes away, on Hilton Head Island, are some of the region’s most pristine beaches, a wealth of restaurants, world-class golf courses and tennis. The ideal day excursion, the island can be visited in one of our complimentary Cadillac or via our daily boat trip over to Harbour Town.

Beaufort

About:

Tucked into narrow interlocking streets and adorned by natural foliage and centuries-old, moss-draped live oak trees, downtown Beaufort is one of the gems of the region. The city’s historic district can be explored with a professional guide either by walking, by horse-drawn carriage, or touring van. The downtown area has an eclectic array of shops and art galleries. Fine homes from the Civil War era can be found in the eastern portion of town, many with unrivaled water views.

Savannah

About:

Just 30 minutes south of Palmetto Bluff is the historic port-city of Savannah. Savannah’s Historic District is one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the United States, with 22 park squares, historic buildings and the oldest antebellum rail facility in America. Home to Savannah College of Art and Design, one of the nation’s premier art institutes, the city abounds with art in a variety of forms. Savannah’s cobblestone streets welcome visitors to explore the architecture, beauty, history and shops independently or through one of the many guided tours.

Location & Directions

About:

To Locate Palmetto Bluff Using a GPS Unit
Please use the address 477 Mount Pelia Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910.

From Savannah Airport
Exit airport and follow signs to I-95 North. Take I-95 North to Exit 8 in South Carolina (16 miles). At Exit 8, go right on Hwy. 278 East and proceed to SC 170 (8 miles). Exit right on SC 170 and follow it to the traffic circle (4 miles). Proceed around traffic circle. Take the third exit, heading East on SC 46. Proceed to Palmetto Bluff entrance (2 miles). The entrance to our South Carolina resort will be on your right; proceed to Welcome Gate.

From Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
Once off Hilton Head Island, continue to Hwy 278/SC 46 intersection (5 miles). Go left on SC 46 and proceed to first stop sign ( 2 miles). Go right and continue on SC 46 to Palmetto Bluff entrance (5 miles). The entrance to Palmetto Bluff will be on your left; proceed to Welcome Gate.

From Charleston, South Carolina
Take Hwy. 17 towards Beaufort, SC. Follow Hwy 17 to I-95 South. On I-95 South, take exit 8. At the traffic light, turn left onto Hwy 278. Take the SC 170 exit and turn right. At traffic circle (4 miles) take the third exit, heading east on SC 46. At approximately 2 miles, the Palmetto Bluff entrance will be on your right.

From Beaufort, South Carolina
Take SC 170 towards Bluffton and go to SC 46 intersection (22 miles). Proceed around traffic circle. Take the third exit, heading East on SC 46. Proceed to Palmetto Bluff entrance (2 miles). The entrance to Palmetto Bluff will be on your right; proceed to Welcome Gate.

From All Other Points
Take I-95 to Exit 8 in South Carolina. At Exit 8, take Hwy. 278 East and proceed to SC 170 (8 miles). Exit right on SC 170 and follow it to the traffic circle(4 miles). Proceed around traffic circle. Take the third exit, heading East on SC 46. Proceed to Palmetto Bluff entrance (2 miles). The entrance to our South Carolina resort will be on your right; proceed to Welcome Gate.

Select your accommodation type

Close